Ugly is the Opening Feature Film of VISAFF 2015 and Anurag Kashyap will be leading VISAFF 2015’s Workshop and partake in our VISAFF panel during the festival.

Anurag Kashyap made an early mark as a writer with the gritty, raw gangster film Satya (1998) directed by Ram Gopal Verma. In 1999, he wrote and directed a short film Last Train to Mahakali that won the Special Jury Award at the 8th Annual Screen Awards.

Kashyap made his directorial debut with Paanch (2000), a film that has not been released till date due to the objections of the Indian Censor Board. This was followed by the acclaimed Black Friday, based on Mumbai bomb blasts of 1993. It won the Grand Jury Prize at the 3rd Annual Indian Film Festival of Los Angeles (2005), and was nominated for the Golden Leopard (Best Film) at the 57th Locarno International Film Festival (2004).

In 2009, he wrote and directed Dev.D, a modern day interpretation on Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay’s classic Bengali novel Devdas. Dev.D received widespread acclaim chiefly due to the film’s fearless visual style, its experimental soundtrack and its innovative narrative structure. It is widely considered to be a path-breaking Indian film.

Kashyap’s slate of films include No Smoking (2007), Return of Hanuman (2007), Gulal (2009), That Girl In Yellow Boots (2011). He produced Udaan (2010) that was officially selected to compete in the Un Certain Regard category at the Cannes Film Festival, 2010. Thereafter, he produced Shaitan in 2011 and co-produced Michael Winterbottom’s Trishna in 2012.  Gangs of Wasseypur (I & II) and his production Peddler by debutant Vasan Bala were screened at the Cannes Film Festival at the Director’s Fortnight and Critic’s Week sections respectively (2012). Peddlers was further nominated for the prestigious Camera D’or Awards.

In 2013, Kashyap has a record of five films in Cannes either as a director or a producer, Ugly at Director’s fortnight, Monsoon shootout by Amit Kumar, Bombay talkies (2013) directed by four Indian filmmakers, The Lunchbox (2013) by Ritesh Batra and Ari Folman’s The Congress.